Posted on

CREATING A SELF PORTRAIT

My first idea for a self portrait was to take a really close up picture of my face using a shallow depth of field. I set up the image in the studio and had someone press the shutter for me to get this image:
DSC_0024

I then edited this to turn it into a black and white image and printed it on an A4 sheet of paper.
louise-black+white

After this, I went out and re shot the image, this time holding the piece of paper up in front of my face, and aligning it perfectly so that it looked as if I was looking out a little window. This came out looking really good, and shows a lot of meaning about me; I can sometimes be quite shy and ‘hide away’ (just like hiding my face behind the piece of paper). It also shows how self-concious I get about myself as I don’t like my body image at all, especially my face, so I do try to keep out of any pictures (again with the hiding). I left the background in colour, which helped with making the image look cool but really ‘creepy’ looking.
me edited

Leave a comment